Saskatchewan · Power · updated October 12, 2026
SaskPower Aspen Power Station
A 370 MW combined-cycle gas plant built by Burns & McDonnell, due December 2027.
- Province
- Saskatchewan
- Location
- Near Lanigan
- Sector
- Power
- Owner
- SaskPower
- EPC / contractors
- Burns & McDonnell (EPC)
- Status
- Under construction since April 2024; 1.4M worker hours to date
- Next milestone
- Commissioning, then in service December 2027
- Disclosed cost
- Not publicly disclosed
- Construction start
- 2024-04
- In service
- December 2027
- Other details
- Peak 750+ workers; C$576M committed to Saskatchewan businesses and C$266M to Indigenous businesses (Apr 2026)
Why it matters for contractors and suppliers
SaskPower publishes its local and Indigenous spend.
Commissioning and the long-term service contracts are the next packages.
Want to know when SaskPower Aspen Power Station moves? Status changes, contract awards and tender dates for every tracked project go to subscribers in the mid-month update, alongside the two monthly reports.
Subscribe for C$299 a year or get the free Top 25 PDF
C$24.92 a month, billed yearly. Cancel any time in two clicks.
Free vs full reports
| Free | Full reports C$299/yr or C$39/mo | |
|---|---|---|
| Project tracker: owner, status, next milestone, cost | ✓ | ✓ |
| Monthly front pages and headlines by email | ✓ | ✓ |
| Free Top 25 Projects one-pager | ✓ | ✓ |
| Both full monthly reports (21 pages in October 2026) | – | ✓ |
| Procurement packages and buyer and contractor contacts | – | ✓ |
| Bid calendar: tenders, awards and deadlines, exportable to Outlook or Google | – | ✓ |
| Project watchlist, highlighted in the mid-month update | – | ✓ |
| Mid-month update when tracked projects move | – | ✓ |
| Every past issue in your account | – | ✓ |
| Get the free PDF | Subscribe |
C$24.92 a month billed yearly (save 36%). Cancel any time in two clicks.
Sources
Supplier registration: owner supplier page · Saskatchewan public tenders. How we research: editorial standards.
Frequently asked
What is the status of SaskPower Aspen Power Station?
As of October 12, 2026: Under construction since April 2024; 1.4M worker hours to date. Next: Commissioning, then in service December 2027.
Who is the contractor on SaskPower Aspen Power Station?
Burns & McDonnell (EPC). Owner: SaskPower.
How much does SaskPower Aspen Power Station cost?
Not publicly disclosed.
What is the timeline for SaskPower Aspen Power Station?
Construction start: 2024-04; in service: december 2027.
How do suppliers register for SaskPower Aspen Power Station?
Through the owner's supplier page: https://www.saskpower.com/our-power-future/infrastructure-projects/construction-projects/planning-and-construction-projects/aspen-power-station/our-commitment-and-work-opportunities. Public-sector packages in Saskatchewan are also posted on the provincial tender portal.