Free tool · updated October 12, 2026
Western Canada data centre and power pipeline map
9 data-centre projects and 7 power and transmission projects in Alberta, B.C. and Saskatchewan. Red dots are data centres, yellow dots are power. Tap a dot for the project page.
- Data centres (9)
- Power and transmission (7)
Disclosed Canadian-dollar cost on this map: C$46B+.
Data centres
| Project | Province | Owner | Contractors | Status | Next milestone | Disclosed cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meta data centre, Sturgeon County | Alberta | Meta Platforms | — | Ground broken Jul 8, 2026 | Load in service back half of 2028 | >C$13B |
| Keephills data centre (TransAlta) | Alberta | TransAlta (site and power) · CPP Investments and Brookfield | — | Non-binding MOU, Feb 27, 2026 | Definitive agreements and a ~230 MW PPA | Not publicly disclosed |
| Beacon AI Centers (Heartland and Indus) | Alberta | — | — | — | AUC decisions | Up to US$7.2B across the Alberta portfolio |
| Wonder Valley data centre | Alberta | — | — | Proposed; EPEA and Water Act approvals outstanding | Permit applications and decisions | Proponent claims ~C$70B at full build |
| Bell AI Fabric Hillside AI Centre, Kamloops | B.C. | Bell AI Fabric (with TRU Community Trust) | — | Construction since spring 2026 | Completion late 2027 | Not publicly disclosed |
| Bell AI Fabric, Regina area | Saskatchewan | Bell Canada | — | 300 MW under construction (RM of Sherwood); +900 MW non-binding MOU | Tenant commitments, a power partner, EAs | ~C$1.7B for the 300 MW phase; >C$50B for the 1.2 GW expansion (provincial figure) |
| eStruxture CAL-3 data centre | Alberta | eStruxture | — | Under construction (Alberta Major Projects, 2024–2026) | Phase 1 online in 2026 | C$750M (Alberta Major Projects) |
| TNE / Data District data centres (Phase 1) | Alberta | Technologies New Energy and Data District | — | Proposed (Alberta Major Projects) | Olds construction 2026; Bonnyville 2027 | C$1.26B (four sites) |
| Crusoe AI data centres with Kalina gas power | Alberta | Crusoe (power: Kalina Distributed Power) | — | Proposed (Alberta Major Projects) | Power plant and site approvals | C$3B (about C$1B per 170 MW plant) |
Power and transmission
| Project | Province | Owner | Contractors | Status | Next milestone | Disclosed cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Coast Transmission Line (NCTL) | B.C. | BC Hydro (500 kV) | — | Phase 1 clearing since July; four line teams shortlisted | Oct 15 final draft contract · Dec 15 proposals · May 2027 award | C$6B (Phases 1–2, BC Hydro estimate); C$3.9B federal–provincial commitment |
| Greenlight Electricity Centre | Alberta | Pembina 47.5% · Morgan Stanley Infrastructure 47.5% · Kineticor 5% | Aecon + Técnicas Reunidas (fixed price) · Siemens Energy | FID Jul 2; all major approvals in hand | In service H2 2030 | ~C$4.6B incl. financing |
| Capital Power supply to Meta / Genesee | Alberta | Meta Platforms | — | — | Load in back half of 2028 | Not publicly disclosed |
| SaskPower Aspen Power Station | Saskatchewan | SaskPower | Burns & McDonnell (EPC) | Under construction since April 2024; 1.4M worker hours to date | Commissioning, then in service December 2027 | Not publicly disclosed |
| Site C Clean Energy Project | B.C. | BC Hydro | — | All six generating units in service by Aug 8, 2025; more than 94% complete overall (Mar 2026) | Remaining works and close-out; about C$1.1B left to spend | C$16B approved budget (C$14.9B spent to Mar 31, 2026) |
| BC Hydro 2024 and 2025 calls for power | B.C. | BC Hydro (independent power producers) | — | 2024 call: 10 EPAs (nine wind, one solar), about 4,830 GWh/yr. 2025 call: four projects, about 3,500 GWh/yr, announced May 2026 | Permitting; BC Hydro interconnection work from 2027; projects online from 2030–2033 | C$4.3B private investment (2025 call, Province) |
| BC Hydro Peace to Kelly Lake Stations Sustainment | B.C. | BC Hydro | — | Implementation phase (board-approved Dec 2022); no material changes in the Nov 2024–Oct 2025 reporting period | In service October 2028 | C$354.0M authorized (BC Hydro) |
What subscribers see that this page doesn’t show
| What you get | Free | Paid |
|---|---|---|
| Project list with owner, status, next milestone and cost | ✓ | ✓ |
| Next 10 dates on the bid calendar | ✓ | ✓ |
| All 64 dated milestones, .ics export and a watchlist | — | ✓ |
| What happens on each date (details for every milestone) | — | ✓ |
| Procurement packages and buyer contacts per project | — | ✓ |
| Two monthly reports (PDF) with maps and buyer tables | — | ✓ |
| Mid-month update on projects that moved | — | ✓ |
Upgrade now: C$299/yr or C$39 a month
Opens secure checkout (card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Link). Cancel any time in two clicks.
Frequently asked
Which data centres are planned in Alberta?
Meta data centre, Sturgeon County, Keephills data centre (TransAlta), Beacon AI Centers (Heartland and Indus), Wonder Valley data centre, eStruxture CAL-3 data centre, TNE / Data District data centres (Phase 1), Crusoe AI data centres with Kalina gas power.
Where will the power for new data centres come from?
Behind-the-meter gas plants, grid connections and utility calls for power. The power projects on this map include North Coast Transmission Line (NCTL), Greenlight Electricity Centre, Capital Power supply to Meta / Genesee, SaskPower Aspen Power Station, Site C Clean Energy Project, BC Hydro 2024 and 2025 calls for power, BC Hydro Peace to Kelly Lake Stations Sustainment.
How often is the map updated?
With each monthly issue, and status changes go to subscribers in the mid-month update.