Guide · updated October 12, 2026

Alberta data-centre projects: who is building, where, and the power behind them

The AI and hyperscale data-centre projects proposed and under way in Alberta and the rest of Western Canada, with owner, power source, status and disclosed cost.

Alberta has the largest pipeline of AI data-centre proposals in Canada, because it has cheap gas, a deregulated power market and room to build. Interconnection has a cap, though. The projects most likely to be built bring their own power or have a signed utility supply deal, like Meta and Capital Power. Every project below links to the owner or regulator filing behind it.

In this guide

  1. Meta data centre, Sturgeon County
  2. Greenlight Electricity Centre
  3. Capital Power supply to Meta / Genesee
  4. Keephills data centre (TransAlta)
  5. Beacon AI Centers (Heartland and Indus)
  6. Wonder Valley data centre
  7. Bell AI Fabric Hillside AI Centre, Kamloops
  8. Bell AI Fabric, Regina area
  9. eStruxture CAL-3 data centre
  10. TNE / Data District data centres (Phase 1)
  11. Crusoe AI data centres with Kalina gas power

Meta data centre, Sturgeon County

Alberta · Data centre · Sturgeon County

Meta's first Canadian data centre: 1 GW, >C$13B, under way.

  • Status: Ground broken Jul 8, 2026
  • Next: Load in service back half of 2028
  • Disclosed cost: >C$13B
  • Owner: Meta Platforms
  • In service: Back half of 2028

Sources:

Greenlight Electricity Centre

Alberta · Gas power · Sturgeon County

Greenlight Electricity Centre: Alberta's first dedicated data-centre power plant.

  • Status: FID Jul 2; all major approvals in hand
  • Next: In service H2 2030
  • Disclosed cost: ~C$4.6B incl. financing
  • Owner: Pembina 47.5% · Morgan Stanley Infrastructure 47.5% · Kineticor 5%; Contractors: Aecon + Técnicas Reunidas (fixed price) · Siemens Energy
  • In service: H2 2030

Sources:

Capital Power supply to Meta / Genesee

Alberta · Power supply · Edmonton

Capital Power bridges Meta to 2030 and pitches Genesee to the next hyperscaler.

  • Status: —
  • Next: Load in back half of 2028
  • Disclosed cost: Not publicly disclosed
  • Owner: Meta Platforms
  • In service: Back half of 2028

Sources:

Keephills data centre (TransAlta)

Alberta · Data centre · Parkland County

Keephills: an AESO allocation in hand, but no binding deal yet.

  • Status: Non-binding MOU, Feb 27, 2026
  • Next: Definitive agreements and a ~230 MW PPA
  • Disclosed cost: Not publicly disclosed
  • Owner: TransAlta (site and power) · CPP Investments and Brookfield

Sources:

Beacon AI Centers (Heartland and Indus)

Alberta · Data centre + gas · Heartland

Beacon AI Centers waits on the AUC for two gas plants.

  • Status: —
  • Next: AUC decisions
  • Disclosed cost: Up to US$7.2B across the Alberta portfolio

Sources:

Wonder Valley data centre

Alberta · Data centre · MD of Greenview

Wonder Valley: zoning help, but no permits yet.

  • Status: Proposed; EPEA and Water Act approvals outstanding
  • Next: Permit applications and decisions
  • Disclosed cost: Proponent claims ~C$70B at full build

Sources:

Bell AI Fabric Hillside AI Centre, Kamloops

British Columbia · Data centre · Kamloops

Bell AI Fabric's Hillside AI Centre at TRU is under construction.

  • Status: Construction since spring 2026
  • Next: Completion late 2027
  • Disclosed cost: Not publicly disclosed
  • Owner: Bell AI Fabric (with TRU Community Trust)
  • In service: Late 2027

Sources:

Bell AI Fabric, Regina area

Saskatchewan · Data centre + gas · Regina area

Bell AI Fabric: 300 MW under construction, with a path to 1.2 GW.

  • Status: 300 MW under construction (RM of Sherwood); +900 MW non-binding MOU
  • Next: Tenant commitments, a power partner, EAs
  • Disclosed cost: ~C$1.7B for the 300 MW phase; >C$50B for the 1.2 GW expansion (provincial figure)
  • Owner: Bell Canada

Sources:

eStruxture CAL-3 data centre

Alberta · Data centre · Rocky View County (Calgary)

Alberta's largest colocation build: a 90 MW, Tier III, C$750M AI-ready campus.

  • Status: Under construction (Alberta Major Projects, 2024–2026)
  • Next: Phase 1 online in 2026
  • Disclosed cost: C$750M (Alberta Major Projects)
  • Owner: eStruxture
  • In service: 2026

Sources:

TNE / Data District data centres (Phase 1)

Alberta · Data centre · Olds, Bonnyville, Calgary and Edmonton regions

Four data centres totalling 240 MW and C$1.26B; Olds first in 2026.

  • Status: Proposed (Alberta Major Projects)
  • Next: Olds construction 2026; Bonnyville 2027
  • Disclosed cost: C$1.26B (four sites)
  • Owner: Technologies New Energy and Data District

Sources:

Crusoe AI data centres with Kalina gas power

Alberta · Data centre · Brazeau, Red Deer and Rocky View counties

Crusoe plans gas-powered AI campuses at 170 MW Kalina energy parks, C$3B in total.

  • Status: Proposed (Alberta Major Projects)
  • Next: Power plant and site approvals
  • Disclosed cost: C$3B (about C$1B per 170 MW plant)
  • Owner: Crusoe (power: Kalina Distributed Power)

Sources:

Frequently asked

Why are data centres being built in Alberta?

Natural gas for on-site power, a cold climate, available land and a deregulated electricity market. Grid connection limits mean many projects plan their own generation.

What is the largest data-centre project in Alberta?

By disclosed figures, Meta’s campus in Sturgeon County (C$13B+). Wonder Valley has the largest proposed power footprint but no disclosed construction cost.

The full brief is in the October 2026 report: the procurement packages to watch, the buyer and contractor contacts, the dates on the 90-day calendar and how this project ties into the rest of the pipeline.

Read it for C$299 a year or see a free sample

Cancel any time in two clicks.